Vol.4 No.2 - May/June 2010
Pick an issue


Dentin Hypersensitivity

Dentin Hypersensitivity: Consensus-Based Recommendations for the Diagnosis & Management of Dentin Hypersensitivity

Research Panel

David H. Pashley
David H. Pashley earned a DMD degree from the Oregon Health Sciences University in 1964 and then moved to Rochester, New York, to earn a PhD in physiology from the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry in 1970. That same year, he joined the faculty at the Medical College of Georgia as an assistant professor and is currently Regents’ Professor (1987-present) of Oral Biology in the School of Dentistry and professor of Physiology and Endocrinology in the School of Medicine.

His research interests include pulp biology, the structure and function of dentin, dentin sensitivity and its treatment, dentin bonding, the mechanical properties of dentin and their modification, adhesive dentistry, bonding and dentin hypersensitivity. His research activities have been supported by the NIDCR since 1973. Dr. Pashley has published more than 500 papers in peer-reviewed journals, about two thirds of which deal with the structure and function of dentin. He has held various offices in the Pulp Biology Group of the IADR and received the Pulp Biology Research Award (one of the IADR Distinguished Scientist Awards) in 1990 for his research and contributions to the field of pulp biology. He received the Hollenbach award from the Academy of Operative Dentistry in 1998. In 2001, he received the Wilmer Souder award for this work in Dental Materials.

Dr. Pashley serves on several editorial boards, lectures nationally and internationally, and participates in international conferences in his area of research.

Franklin R. Tay
Franklin R. Tay received his BDSc with first-class honors from the University of Queensland, Australia, his PhD from the University of Hong Kong, China, and his Certificate of Endodontics from the Medical College of Georgia. He received his Board Certification from the American Association for Endodontists in 2008 and is a Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics. He is currently an associate professor in the Department of Endodontics, School of Dentistry, Medical College of Georgia, and honorary professor, Faculty of Dentistry, The University of Hong Kong.

Dr. Tay’s areas of research include: dental materials related to endondontics, dentin structure and function, dentin permeability, dentin bonding, regional bond strength measurements, and mechanical properties of dentin, collagen and resins, and biomimetic remineralization of dentin using nanotechnological approaches.

Van B. Haywood
Van B. Haywood is a professor in the Department of Oral Rehabilitation, School of Dentistry, Medical College of Georgia. A 1974 alumni of MCG, he was in private practice for 7 years in Augusta, Georgia, and taught at the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry in operative and prosthodontics for 12 years before returning to MCG in 1993. He teaches in the castings course, the occlusion course, and the esthetics course, as well as in student clinics, and is the director of continuing education for the School of Dentistry. He also sits on the editorial boards of several peer-reviewed publications.

In 1989, Dr. Haywood co-authored the first publication in the world on nightguard vital bleaching (at-home bleaching) with Dr. Harald Heymann, and in 1997 co-authored the first article on extended treatment (6 months) of tetracycline-stained teeth using this technique. He has completed further research and more than 90 publications on the nightguard vital bleaching technique and the topic of bleaching and esthetics, including the first papers on treating bleaching sensitivity with potassium nitrate, direct thermoplastic tray fabrication, and bleaching primary teeth.

Marie A. Collins
Marie A. Collins is chair and associate professor, Department of Dental Hygiene, and associate professor, Department of Periodontics, at the Medical College of Georgia School of Allied Health Sciences and School of Dentistry. She earned her BS (1994) and MS (1998) degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and her EdD (2006) from Georgia Southern University. She teaches periodontal instrumentation, research design, pharmacology, and basic life support. Since 2001, Dr. Collins has served as a director of the annual Dental Hygiene Symposium, one of the largest continuing education programs for dental hygienists. She was the recipient of the 2005 Outstanding Faculty Award from the MCG Greenblatt Library and is currently serving on two editorial review boards. Dr. Collins is a consultant for the Joint Commission on Dental Accreditation. Her publications include three chapters in dental hygiene textbooks and several refereed journal articles.

Connie Drisko
Connie Drisko was a practicing dental hygienist for 16 years before receiving a dental degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City and completing a hospital-based general practice residency at the Veterans Administration Medical Center, Leavenworth, Kansas. Dr. Drisko received her certificate in periodontics and became a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology in 1990, was elected as a director in 2000 and served as chairman in 2006. She is a Fellow of the American College of Dentists, the International College of Dentists, and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. Dr. Drisko serves as chairman of the ADEA Women’s Advisory Committee. In 2001, she was selected as a Fellow for the Executive Leadership Academic Medicine (ELAM) program and remains active in ELUM. She is currently Dean and Merritt Professor at the Medical College of Georgia School of Dentistry in Augusta, Georgia. Dr. Drisko has published more than 60 papers and monographs and presented continuing education programs on non-surgical periodontal therapy and dentin hypersensitivity nationally and internationally. She has participated in numerous symposia and expert panels on dentin hypersensitivity. Dr. Drisko’s clinical research interests include local drug delivery, non-surgical therapies, and oral-health systemic diseases.